We're sponsored by Glossop Caravans


31 March 2020

As part of a new series, discover the landmarks that have mapped the history of our club.

In a new series, Swinton Lions club director Steve Wild guides us on a virtual tour of the local area to places that have played an integral part in the history of the club.

Part 1 – Foundation of the club, 1866. 

At a meeting on 20th October 1866, chaired by the Vicar of Swinton, the Rev Henry Robinson Heywood, members of Swinton Cricket Club decided to play “football” during the winter.

This meeting took place at St Peter’s School , but this was not the school building that we know today. The old school was located on Wardley Street (which took the same route as The Parade on today’s shopping precinct). The school was located roughly where the chippy now stands!

Note: Please follow current government guidelines around social distancing and leaving your home. 

The site of the old St Peter’s School on the corner of Wardley Street and Brackley Street (marked infnt school on this old map).


The old St Peter’s School stood roughly on the site of The Parade Fish Bar. (Image: Google Maps)


The old St Peter’s School later became Swinton & Pendlebury Labour Club , which was demolished to make way for the precinct development in the late 1960s.


Sale FC
Primus Traffic Management
Glossop Caravans
Created by Rugby League World Cup England 2021
Camway Installations
Daisymill Technologies
Swinton Lions Supporters Trust