We're sponsored by Glossop Caravans
Squad Nabiagtion Left
Squad Nabiagtion Right

Latest News


6 May, 2024


SWINTON LIONS 12 BRADFORD BULLS 38 IAN RIGG at Heywood Road, Sunday 5 May 2024 The Bulls warmed up for next week’s big game against Wakefield with a seven try performance against the Lions. It started badly for the visitors when they knocked on in the first set but after that they constantly put pressure on the Lions defence. There were early chances for the Lions, but the Bulls defence was on top, and it was the visitors who took the lead when Jordan Lilley sent out a lovely short pass to Zac Fulton and he scored under the posts with Lilley adding the conversion. Six minutes later they were in again when Jorge Taufua made a break and Kieran Gill was on had to finish off the move to score and again Lilley made no mistake with the conversion, and this was quickly followed when Mitch Souter found a way to score by the posts after breaking two tackles and again the conversion was good. The Lions were not giving up and hit back on twenty-six minutes when Dec Patton floated a pass to the left and Rhys Williams was on hand to score in the corner with Patton converting. More Bulls pressure on the line just after the half hour but again good defence from the Lions holding them out on three occasions, but with three minutes to go to the break Souter found a nice pass for Kevin Appo to blast past a couple of defenders to score under the posts and Lilley again converted. It took Bulls fours minutes to get on the board again in the second half when this time Souter created a gap for Dan Okoro to score by the posts and Lilley converted. Jayden Hatton made a good break for the Lions on fifty-two minutes, and it took a great tackle from Lilley to stop his progress, and two minutes he thought he had scored but there was an obstruction in the build up and it was cancelled out. Gav Rodden and Tom Holmes were sent to the sinbin on fifty-four minutes for fighting and the Bulls got the penalty and from the pressure Taufua created a second try for Gill who scored in the corner, but Lilley was unable to convert from the touchline. Fenton Rogers was held up on sixty-three minutes and they forced a goal line drop out from the next tackle, but nothing came of it. Another chance this time for Aidan McGowan but he lost control of the ball with the line open. Williams added his second with eleven minutes to go after a floated kick by Jordy Gibson and Patton converted off the touchline. The Lions were starting to put some pressure on the Bulls in the last ten minutes and got a penalty around halfway but as Patton went to kick to touch he seemed to say something to the official and he was sent to the sinbin and the penalty reversed and from this the Bulls put the penalty long downfield and more pressure on the Lions line with a man down Jayden Myers took advantage of a long pass to race in at the corner but Lilley could not convert. With seconds to go before the hooter Williams made a breakout of his own twenty but a good tackle by McGowan stopped him as the hooter sounded. LIONS 1 Dan Abram 25 Richard Lepori 29 Jonny Vaughan 4 Jayden Hatton 5 Rhys Williams 6 Dec Patton 7 Jordy Gibson 13 Mikey Wood 14 Josh Eaves 34 Lucas Green 33 Matty Foster 21 Andy Badrock 16 Lewis Hall Subs (all used) 20 Jack Houghton 24 Jordan Case 8 Liam Cooper 11 Gav Rodden Tries: Williams (26,69) Goals: Patton 2/2 Sin-bin: Rodden (57) fighting; Patton (71) dissent BULLS 24 Aiden McGowan 35 Jacob Douglas 21 Jayden Myers 4 Kieran Gill 5 Jorge Tufua 1 Tom Holmes 7 Jordan Lilley 34 Fenton Rogers 18 Mitch Souter 13 Michael Lawrence 28 Harvey Wilson 29 Zac Fulton 17 Eribe Doro Subs (all used) 16 Kevan Appo 10 Ebon Scurr 23 Dan Okoro 31 Tyran Ott Tries: Fulton (14), Gill (20,59), Souter (23), Appo (37), Okoro (44), Myers (72) Goals: Lilley 5/7 Sin-bin: Holmes (57) fighting Penalties: 7-7 Half-time: 6-24 Referee: Liam Rush Attendance: 1187

2 weeks ago


30 Apr, 2024


HALIFAX PANTHERS 12 SWINTON LIONS 28 IAN RIGG at The Shay, Sunday 28 April 2024 The Lions put in a stunning performance to condemn Fax to another defeat and move them further up the table. The first set was played out in the Lions half, but poor handling let them down. It was then visitors who took the lead in the fourth minute after they had forced a goal line drop out and from the pressure Jonny Vaughan found Mitch Cox on the right and he scored near the corner but the conversion from Dec Patton off the touchline struck the posts and bounced out. Fax Tried to hit back and had good pressure on the line with Ben Kavanagh and Adam Tangata going close but again handling let them down as good defence from the Lions. Greg Eden made a telling break down the left on eighteen minutes, but he too lost the ball. Jayden Hatton put the Lions further ahead on twenty minutes after a nice pass from Dan Abram and Patton converted in front of the Lions fans. Tee Ritson put Rhys Williams away two minutes later, but good defence held him out. More pressure from Fax before the Lions scored a bizarre try when Patton put a kick to the posts and Gibson followed it and it looked like it was going to sail dead but he jumped in the air as he was crossing the dead ball line and with his feet in the air knocked it backwards and Abram collected it as it came down to score under the posts and Patton converted. Eden had another chance just after the half hour but again could not control the ball and with seconds to go in the first half a nice, measured kick by Gibson went into the in goal and two Fax defenders seemed to leave it and Vaughan pounced on the rolling ball to score but Patton could not convert from the touchline. A better start for Fax in the second half with Zack McComb being held up and from the third tackle the ball found Louis Jouffret who scored on the right and added the conversion to put them back in it. Ed Barber made a nice thirty metre break on fifty-five minutes taking a good tackle from Josh Eaves to stop his progress. Daniel Spencer-Tonks was then held up before the home side went back downfield but the Lions defence held strong and kept them out until Eden finished off a long ball pass in the corner and Jouffret converted. Kevin Larroyer was sent to the sinbin for an elbow on Eaves with eleven minutes left and Patton Added the penalty from thirty metres. The kick from the restart failed to go ten metres and the Lions made them pay when pressure on the line saw Eaves slip a nice pass to Gibson who crossed under the sticks with Patton converting. It was the Lions who had the ball for the last two minutes but couldn’t add any more points but sent their following home happy. LIONS 1 Dan Abram 32 Tee Ritson 29 Jonny Vaughan 4 Jayden Hatton 5 Rhys Williams 6 Dec Patton 7 Jordy Gibson 34 Lucas Green 14 Josh Eaves 13 Mikey Wood 37 Matty Foster 12 Mitch Cox 16 Lewis Hall Subs (all used) 35 Ben Hartill 8 Liam Cooper 15 Daniel Spencer-Tonks 21 Andy Badrock Tries: Cox (8), Hatton (20), Abram (27), Vaughan (39), Gibson (72) Goals: Patton 4/6 HALIFAX 6 Louis Jouffret 2 Greg Eden 17 Ben Tibbs 1 James Woodburn-Hall 5 James Saltonstall 23 Gareth Widdop 7 Joe Keyes 31 Kevin Larroyer 20 Tom Inman 8 Adam Tangata 11 Ben Kavanagh 12 Matty Gee 3 Zack McComb Subs (all used) 13 Jacob Fairbank 15 Ryan Lannon 18 Brandon Douglas 26 Ed Barber Tries: Jouffret (43), Eden (67) Goals: Jouffret 2/2 Sin-bin: Larroyer (69) use of elbow Penalties: 4-8 Half-time: 0-20 Referee: Mike Smaill Attendance: 1,372

3 weeks ago

Meet the Team



Sale FC
Primus Traffic Management
Glossop Caravans
Created by Rugby League World Cup England 2021
Camway Installations
Daisymill Technologies
Swinton Lions Supporters Trust