We're sponsored by Glossop Caravans


30 December 2018

Swinton Lions Head Coach Stuart Littler has released the confirmed 2019 squad numbers for the upcoming Betfred Championship season.

As revealed exclusively at the 2019 Season Launch at Heywood Road, Stuart Littler has confirmed the 2019 squad numbers for the upcoming Championship campaign.

Twenty-five players have been signed for the Lions for 2019, with the season starting in less than two weeks with a pre-season fixture against Super League side Salford Red Devils.

Eleven players have re-signed from the 2018 campaign, whilst Littler has added size, power and experience to his pack, including former Super League forward Gavin Bennion and ex-Swinton player Adam Jones.

The Head Coach has also added skill to his backs, including last year’s Rob Fairclough and Scotland international Oscar Thomas in the halves.

On the new shirt numbers, and the upcoming season, Swinton Lions Chairman Andy Mazey said: “A lot is often read into the squad numbers, however Stuart has gone on record stating that all places are up for grabs which is refreshing to hear.

“The seventeen who kick off the season in Sheffield will be based on performance throughout the challenging pre-season and of course the three warm-up fixtures.

“Stuart, Allan and our staff and players are all working very hard leaving no stone unturned in readiness for the exciting challenges that lie ahead in 2019 and every one of those twenty five lions will play a part.

“With a new cup competition on the line and the prospect of mid-week fixtures coupled with the demands of overseas fixtures, the importance of a strong squad can’t be overstated. Our much improved team spirit, strong work ethic, and the togetherness of this group of quality people will be vital to us throughout a challenging year.

“When reading through our squad list, it’s difficult not to be excited and clearly we have worked hard to develop this squad with emphasis on retaining those who met the required disciplinary standards on and off the pitch and consistently performed in our shirt last season. By adding more of the same type of professionals and characters, we now have a strong group of people all here for the right reasons who all want to play for Stuart and give everything for Swinton Lions.

“Thanks must go to our partners and Supro Sports, who I believe have perfectly detailed the players numbers names on the new shirts whilst also showcasing our magnificent kit sponsors and commercial partners.

“Not long to go now, come on you Lions!”

The 2019 Swinton Lions squad is as follows:

  1. Jack Hansen
  2. Mike Butt
  3. Rhodri Lloyd
  4. Daley Williams
  5. Ryan Gray
  6. Oscar Thomas
  7. Rob Fairclough
  8. Gavin Bennion
  9. Luke Waterworth
  10. Lewis Hatton
  11. Adam Jones
  12. Kyle Shelford
  13. Will Hope
  14. Billy Brickhill
  15. Ben Austin
  16. Paddy Jones
  17. Aaron Hall
  18. Chris Worrall
  19. Jose Kenga
  20. Harry Aaronson
  21. Mike Ratu
  22. Frankie Halton
  23. Joe Digby
  24. Ashley Warne
  25. Matty Ashton

Purchase your shirt with your favourite player’s name number or your create your own via the Swinton Lions Store here


Sale FC
Primus Traffic Management
Glossop Caravans
Created by Rugby League World Cup England 2021
Camway Installations
Daisymill Technologies
Swinton Lions Supporters Trust