We're sponsored by Glossop Caravans


17 September 2019

Matty Ashton has won the Young Player of the Year in the 2019 Betfred Championship Awards.

Matty Ashton has won the Young Player of the Year trophy at the 2019 Betfred Championship Awards.

The 21-year-old winger, who has agreed a deal to join Super League outfit Warrington Wolves in 2020, scored 30 tries in 24 league games in his debut season for the Lions as the club secured its highest finish in 21 years.

Ashton was victorious in a group of contenders for the award in a three-man shortlist, which included Widnes Vikings’ Keenan Brand and Leigh Centurions’ Joe Cator.

Ashton was crowned at the Betfred Championship and League 1 Awards Night at the Hilton Hotel in Manchester on Tuesday, September 24.

The other awards presented on the night included Coach of the Year, won by York’s James Ford whilst the Player of the Year award was scooped by Toronto Wolfpack’s Gareth O’Brien.

Betfred Championship Awards

Player of the Year: Andy Ackers (Toronto Wolfpack), Winner: Gareth O’Brien (Toronto Wolfpack), Jon Wilkin (Toronto Wolfpack)

Young Player of the Year: Winner: MATTY ASHTON (SWINTON LIONS), Keenan Brand (Widnes Vikings), Joe Cator (Leigh Centurions)

Coach of the Year: Mark Aston (Sheffield Eagles), Winner: James Ford (York City Knights), Brian McDermott (Toronto Wolfpack)


Sale FC
Primus Traffic Management
Glossop Caravans
Created by Rugby League World Cup England 2021
Camway Installations
Daisymill Technologies
Swinton Lions Supporters Trust